Company switched provider

Here’s a possibly unique question. My company switched insurance provider while I was on short term disability and shortly before I started my LTD (from GWL to SunLife). I know I haven’t signed any documents regarding LTD since the switch so my question is does the absence of signed documents affect me good/bad or does it matter? (Company is 4000 emp. and is unionized)

I’m not a lawyer but I don’t think it matters.

Contact your union rep. You may need to have a meeting with the union negotiator to aquire the documentation for the coverage hand over agreement as well as the differences between the coverage and protocols.
Assume nothing
Get written copies of everything as you will need them at some point.
Good luck

Good advice.
The waiting period or coverage may have changed. It’s good to know everything.

This happens all the time and there are parts of the incoming / outgoing policy that make it clear about which policy would apply during transition period. Most of the time the employer / insurers will tell you want policy applies; however, in rare situations there can be disputes where the one insurer says the other is responsible, and vice versa.

David Brannen

Disability Lawyer with Resolute Legal