Refused for long term disability

Ive been working for a company for the past 8 years under my husbands insurance at sunlife. I was recently diagnosed with lupus. I was denied for ltd because HR said that i apprently signed a refusal paper 8 years ago. But they never asked me or made me sign any paper. We asked for the paper they said they dont have it. So they asked us to sign the refusal paper now. Is that illegal? And how should i proceed? One of my colleagues that has been working for over 4 years now also didnt have the insurance at work she had it with her husband that doesnt work at our company and was never asked to sign a refusal coverage paper. Os this all illegal or they trying to cover up for their mistakes?

1 Like

I would talk to a lawyer.

If they can’t produce the paper they claimed you signed then I don’t see how they can base their denial of LTD on that.
Don’t sign anything now.

Just wondering:
The paper was with your company saying you would use your husband’s insurance?
Your LTD claim is with your company’s insurance?
I believe my insurance coordination of benefits with a spouse is on a claim by claim basis.
I signed all sorts of forms related to IP when I was hired.
I guess I was lucky they didn’t sneak in an insurance waiver because I might not have noticed at the time.

1 Like