STD return to work forced

My 9 month old daughter was diagnosed with a terminal illness in April of this year and I’ve been on STD since the end of May - Depression and Anxiety. My claims person with Manulife called me today to let me know that they would like me to return to work. Its confusing to me because my doctor, my counsellor and myself all agree that in no way am I ready to go back to work, and that by doing so I can put myself in an extremely stressful and unsafe situation. I work in finance and making a mistake can have monumental effects to my job and clients. I have refused medication from my doctor (who has offered it to me twice on separate occasions) and have been doing to weekly therapy, hoping that I can work through this and get to a comfortable place to go back to work when the time is right. The claims person said something on the lines that because no changes to my health plan have been made, and that there are no medical reason that support myself continuing on STD they believe that I should return. My doctor had conducted 2 separate questionnaires regarding depression and anxiety and sent the scores to him (supporting that there is still anxiety and depression) which he basically said don’t matter. He said that if I choose to argue this I am welcome to try, but he keeps telling me that I could look into doing critical or compassionate care leave due to the nature of the situation. I feel frustrated that they’re clutching on the fact that my child is dying, so its not a matter of my mental health and more a matter that they don’t want to pay and I should go on a government supported leave instead. My doctor is writing up another letter to him, stating again, that I am still unfit to return to work. I’m frustrated and worried, I’m feeling unsupported and lost. Has anyone ever been through something like this?

1 Like

Sorry to hear about your daughter.
Lots of people have gone through this.