Std . Can you see a social worker for psychological treatments?

Hi there. I work in healthcare and feeling severe burn out. I went to my family doctor and he has prescribed some medication as well as psychological treatments but did not specify who. I was wondering could I see a license social worker for my psychological treatments?

I’m hoping to apply for STD. Thank you everyone

I would start there.
The SW will recommend a Psychologist.

The worry I had (because I’m paranoid) was if they have to disclose any of the notes to the insurance company.
Mine would only make a subset of notes if legally required to.
Apparently if an insurance company sends you to one of their own anything you say might go back to the insurance company.

1 Like

In my past lawsuit I had counselling from a social worker (master degree) who worked in a group of counselors-some psychologists and some social workers. When we needed a report for court and to support my claim, the social worker had the psychologist sit in on an assessment and also sign on the report.

For my spouse I paid the extra to have him see a psychologist as he was at high risk of suicide.

1 Like

Hi thanks so much for your response. May I ask how much you paid for each counselling session and if your insurance reimbursed you for those treatments?

I heard getting psychologist is better somehow vs. social worker. might that be true ?

In Manitoba we pay 180 for psychologist-but a social worker is about 50-60. A psychologist is better , but many psychologists works in a group with social workers, so you can see a social worker who is supervised under a psychologist.

My social worker had been qualified as an expert in previous lawsuits-one involving a nun who was sexually abused by a Superior nun. So if their CV is good, then look into a cost-effective route.

Also you can request from your Doctor to be referred to a psychiatrist for back-up and medication review–wait is about 6 months or longer.