Regarding Federal Disability tax credit application in review and paying 2019 taxes

Hello Room

Great site for info , i might add, thank you to all that help out.

My situation is the following.

I am in the process of getting my Federal Disability Tax credit , it is currently in review and being processed.

I check the status of my application every day on the service Canada website, and it still says processing.

I just filed my income taxes for 2019, and it seems with the cpp-d lump sum payment for 2019 , I guess i owe the federal government close to 1000.00.

My question is the following.

Is my disability tax credit disallowed, because i have to pay income tax this year ? is this a warning flag , that my application is being denied , or was denied ?

The reason I ask, is if I was successful in getting the DTC, would it not apply to the 2019 tax season , so I would pay less ?

I am not good at money issues, and usually my wife does the hard lifting when it comes to finances. has this situation ever happened to anybody else ?

I will sit back, and look forward to all responses.

Thank you all

I just went through this same scenario. CRA said I couldn’t claim the credit until the DTC had been approved and to file my return without claiming the credit. Then when the DTC was issued, I was to refile an amended return through the blue button “change my return” on CRA’s website.

Thank you Caro

Your information was both helpful and education. I am glad sit like this , along with great fantastic people , help,those with questions or concerns.

I wish all of you success in your applications and if I can help, I will pay it forward…

Thank you again

John

Hello Caro

Did you chase one, or did you have to change all for the 10 year roll back, for example mine would be 2010-2019 ?

Thank you
Jiohn