Losing professional designation while on LTD

Sorry for the second question, I’m a bit worked up about this right now and just not sure what to do.

I am a professional registered with a regulatory college. I have been off work for 1.5 years. After 3 years of not working in my profession, I lose my ability to practice. Because the qualifications for my profession changed after I graduated, I don’t actually qualify for re-applying without re-educating.

What happens if I am still on LTD when this happens? It’s only a year and a half away so very possible. What work would the insurance company expect me to return to if I was no longer a regulated professional?

I am really distressed by this, I do not want to lose my designation. Does anyone have experience with this?

You will be fine. Keeping your license or registration with a regulatory college is NOT a requirement to maintain LTD. Just think about it… imagine if a doctor, or a nurse, or lawyer, became mentally incapacitated and unable to do their job. They would have their license revoked. But this wouldn’t preclude them from disability. Therefore, having your registration lapse will not in any way affect your LTD benefits. Eventually everyone on LTD loses their license or registration because generally you don’t have enough contact hours or work experience to maintain it.

The main downside to losing your registration is if you plan to become able to work again in the future. If you are no longer disabled (e.g. able to do your job) then your LTD benefits would stop and you would need to re-acquire your license and take the appropriate remedial training required. If you don’t want to lose your designation you can try phoning your college and asking them for advice. Depending on your profession you may be able to take extra courses in lieu of work hours to main your registration. They will likely have some advice for you.

1 Like

Thank you, that makes sense.