Who owns your medical records?

Can the insurance company deny you or your Regular doctor a copy of the report from the insurance companies dr? If you are sent to see their doctor for a ‘second opinion’ are you not allowed to have a copy to give to your regular doctor?

Thank you

I am not a lawyer but I have done much research on this.
Parslow v. Masters (1993) SJ No. 210 (Sask. QB). https://www.canlii.org/en/sk/skqb/doc/1993/1993canlii9105/1993canlii9105.html?searchUrlHash=AAAAAQATUGFyc2xvdyB2LiBNYXN0ZXJzIAAAAAAB&resultIndex=1
In Parslow v. Masters,the court held that an insured person is entitled to production of IME reports on the basis that the patient had a personal interest in medical documentation pertaining to him- or herself. The judge relied on the principles set out in the Supreme Court of Canada decision McInerney v. Macdonald,[5] and concluded:

“While it is true that Great-West paid for the medical report in respect of Parslow, it is also true that Parslow was required to disclose private and personal information about herself to enable Masters to prepare the report. In this respect, a physician-patient relationship was created, even if the purpose of the medical consultation with Masters was not to enable him to advise Parslow and prescribe a course of treatment for her…. There is at best only a difference of degree and not of substance in the situation where the patient attends a physician for a third party medical rather than for professional services.”

Depending on your province you may have a Privacy Act or Privacy Commissioner for whom you can follow their policies or guidelines. If not you can check PIPEDA. If it was myself I would attempt to get the information directly from the Doctor
by serving the appropriate request as well as on the Insurance Company. You can also request your claim file. under PIPEDA.