When to get a medical leave of absene

I have been on LTD for two years now with a spinal cord condition and am now at that transitions stage. So far I have been complying with the insurers request, but this isn’t about the LTD insurance. What I am looking for is information regarding a Leave of Absence for Medical Reasons. I had previously gone on to LTD without issue and I received my vacation pay as soon as that happened. This time I have a bank of 10 weeks sitting in the bank and I am told that I cannot access them unless I leave the company or go on Medical Leave of absence.Does going on a leave change anything in my case?

Interesting question.
I’m guessing you work for the government.
Was this bank of 10 weeks acrued when you were on LTD?
If yes, I would wonder if that money is owed to the insurance company.
Need a legal opinion. :slight_smile:

In fact, I am a Heavy Duty Mechanic working for a large mining equipment dealer, and we are unionised. (Government worker? Please. (chuckle)) Anyway, I can tell you that at least the majority of it was from when I was on the job but there may have been a portion earned while I was on LTD. This seems unlikely as our paystubs show vacation time increasing every paycheque as we earn it. I have done a couple of short modified duty periods with gaps between and my vacation changes accordingly.

Back to the original post, and to give context, when I had previously been on LTD for surgery I had been ‘automatically’ put onto Medical Leave of Absence as was company policy. At that time we were using GWL for LTD insurance but have switched to SunLife in the last few years. This time I noticed the vacation time had not been paid as before and called HR where I was told the new policy of me having to request a leave of absence to receive this money.