Being held responsible for employee and employer error on LTD

I was terminated by employer due to being totally disabled. I had been collecting LTD since 2006 and was terminated in 2012. Upon termination I was informed I would be getting a company pension. I immediately contacted my case manager to inform him of the pension and discussed any reduction of my LTD benefit. He told me No that my benefit would remain the same. For the next 4 years my benefit did remain the same. In late 2016 I was asked to provide an update to my insurance company , I called and spoke with them to provide the info they were asking for, I was also asked about the start dates of my CPP as well as my LTD , I responded that they should have those records and it would be easier for them to look it up than me going through all my files. After they confirmed the particular dates with me I also told them they would have the start date of my pension. To my surprise they did not have any info in regards to a company pension. I told them that I had reported it to my case manager back in 2012 but they insisted they did not have any info. I also was informed that my employer had not notified them at all about being terminated or receiving any pension, they even admitted that this was unusual and did not understand why the employer had not provided any info to them. As a result of all this I am being held responsible for a 14,000.00 overpayment. Over paid for almost 4 years. I proceeded to contact the Ombudsman for the insurance company , their reply was because there was no record of my call in 2012 to my case manager and that the phone calls between case manager and claimant were not recorded they could not do anything for me. I then contacted the Canadian Insurance companies Ombudsman and basically I lost as well , they stated the same reasons. Now I am paying back 14,000.00 , this has destroyed me financially . I did what I was required to do and reported my pension income and because he did not